HTML5 App for Desktop Using Qt WebKit

Qt WebKit HTML5 App
Qt WebKit HTML5 App

It’s been a long time since the last time I wrote about Qt programming. This time I’d like to share my recent activity on developing the desktop version of my Android webapp, Hafal Quran. You can download it from Google Play Store by clicking this badge:
Android app on Google Play

My purpose is that the app can run on most platform. So it led me to choose HTML5 approach. And finally I come up with the app website which everyone can play it on http://hq.amzone.web.id. The Android app is the first platform-specific release of Hafal Quran.

While it looks like already reaches the final version, it actually lacks an important aspect, i.e dis-connectivity. We have to connect to internet to play it. Of course we cannot play it when go offline. So now, I continue its development to the next step: offline mode.

The first development should be focused on the Android version, as the users of mobile devices are the most and growing. But for now, I will make the offline version for desktop first. In this case, I choose to deploy it for Ubuntu Linux distro and the derivatives, particularly Grombyang OS Edu.

Technical overview

I utilize Qt framework for the development because I have some experiences in it. Besides, I decided to use Webkit as the engine of the app. And actually it is part of Qt framework itself. Webkit is the infamous engine for most popular browser, including Safari, Chrome, and even Opera.

But unfortunately, QWebKit module is now being deprecated since Qt 5. And it is now superceded by QWebEngine module. So, for now, I will still use QWebKit module of Qt4.

The drawbacks of using Webkit is probably about the memory usage. Since Qt modules are quite greedy in terms of consuming RAM.


FYI, the Android app was one of 50 apps that were selected at Finding Top50 Local Apps event, which was held by Baidu Indonesia last year.

Published by

Badwi

A Muslim, sober, a Javanese

Share your idea here (markdown enabled)

