Dealing with Fedora firewall configuration

Fedora includes and enables firewall rules set by default. I mean –as an end user opinion– it’s not the same as Ubuntu. When I was using Ubuntu, everything just works, no hassle caused by firewall. Then when the first time I tried Fedora, there are a few restrictions created by firewall configuration. I’m not really understand firewall, though. But soon I learnt it.

TL;DR, at least I’ve got 3 hurdles in dealing with Fedora firewall default config. They are blocked by the config, i.e

  • Samba Share
  • KDE Connect
  • VLC UPNP / DLNA

By then, I put them as whitelist apps to be allowed in the Firewalld config manager. Then this day, I look again, and actually I totally disable the firewalld of systemd.

sudo systemctl disable firewalld
Published by

Badwi

A Muslim, sober, a Javanese

Share your idea here (markdown enabled)

