Kinetic typography is an animation technique for moving text in certain ways. It became quite popular since a few years earlier. There are so many tutorials out there how to do kinetic typography. Almost all of them are created with After Effects (AE).

As a part of OpenSource community, I have once wondered, was there exist a similar program to do kinetic typography that runs on Linux? The answer is, yes of course, but not as powerful as AE. Actually, I’ve found Synfig Studio that has a close functionality to AE to produce kinetic typography. But, basically Synfig is a 2D animation software. Therefore, I cannot compare it with AE, after all.

TL;DR, this is a tutorial I’ve found in Youtube to do kinetic typography in Linux

And this is my rendered video

Share your idea here (markdown enabled)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.