I had a dual boot system: Windows and Ubuntu ever since I knew Linux world. So, I always have a separate partition to store files, which both OS can access them. The partition is always formatted with NTFS, something that’s not come from Linux world. Something like an alien for Linux, but has a good integration, since the Linux contributors gave support for NTFS partition. So, there’s no difficulty to read files in NTFS drive with Linux.

But, the problem comes when we want to ‘mount’ the drive / partition. It usually asks for a root password to mount. It’s not so convenient to type the password every time we mount the drive / partition, isn’t it?

“Hey, there is /etc/fstab out there.” You may think so. Oh, yeah, I almost forget this one. Actually we can set the partition to be automounted in every boot. But I don’t know why I avoided this approach since then.

So, I always use the automount option of Ubuntu instead. Ubuntu has the option to automount the drive/partition somewhere in the system settings if I remember correctly. After I switch to KDE desktop, I also found the option in the KDE systemsettings. So, I’ve got the partition to be automounted as soon as I log in to the plasma desktop.

A little trouble with Fedora

Now I also use Fedora in my daily basis. And I also choose KDE as the desktop. But, after a while, I found out that KDE was unable to automount the NTFS partition like Kubuntu did. Even though I have checked the option to ‘automount at login’, it still didn’t work.

fedora-automount

Then, a couple of days ago, I asked people in the #fedora-kde channel at Freenode IRC about my problem. Then a person with username ‘rdieter’ pointed about  ‘Privilege escalation’ in Fedora.

So, I just asked google about it, and it’s actually a piece of cake to find the best answer. I followed the instruction in AskFedora forum here. And it’s just work! Great! Here’s the workaround I managed to do automount partition in Fedora.

Follow the guide for Fedora 17, but the file should be saved to /etc/polkit-1/rules.d/99-mount-partitions.rules and its contents should be:

// Password-less mounting of local partitions
polkit.addRule(function(action, subject) {
    if (action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.filesystem-mount-system" && subject.isInGroup("wheel")) {
       return polkit.Result.YES;
    }
});

The writer noted that it’s for Fedora 18, but the comment below it states that it’s also working for Fedora 22. And yes, so does Fedora 23. Now, Dolphin doesn’t ask for password when I click on the NTFS partition.

Share your idea here (markdown enabled)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.